Current Affairs of 28th March, 2016: Amitabh Bachan, Kangana Ranaut Win National Film Awards

Current Affairs of 28th March, 2016: Amitabh Bachan, Kangana Ranaut Win National Film Awards

Nandita Bakshi is New President and CEO of Bank of the West


28.3.2016: Indian American Nandita Bakshi is appointed as the chief executive offer and president of Bank of the West. She will assume duties on first of June this year. Nandita is on the board of Consumer Bankers Association. She succeeds Michael Shepherd. Nandita received awards such as Woman of the Year in the year 2002.

New UN Human Rights Commissioner is Surya Deva

28.3.2016: UN Human Rights Council appointed Professor Surya Deva as adviser on human rights and commissioner. Surya Deva will be one of the members of four member working group and these members report to council every year and also to UN general assembly.

Amitabh Bachan, Kangana Ranaut Win National Film Awards

28.3.2016: Sixty third national Film awards were announced. Amitabh Bachan won best actor award for his performance in the movie Piku and Kangana won the best actress award for Tanu Weds Manu Returns. Bahubali is given the best film award and Bajirao Mastani’s director Sanjay Leela Bhansali won the best director award. This is the fourth national award for Amitabh Bachchan. He won the award earlier for his characters in Agneepath, Paa and Black movies. Kangana won the national award second time. She won the best actress award for the movie Queen also.

Pranab Mukherjee Presents Padma Awards

28.3.2016: President Pranab Mukherjee presented Padma Vibhushan and Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri awards today in New Delhi. Padma award were announced on the eve of republic day and the awards were presented at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. Fifty six persons out of 112 persons were presented the awards. Padma Bhushan awards were announced to ten people, Padma Bhushan to 19 people and Padma Shri to 83 awards. The list includes 19 women.

63rd National Film Awards Announced

28.3.2016: sixty third national film awards are announced. Best feature film award is announced for Rajamouli’s Bahubali. Best direction award is announced for Sanjay Leela Bhansali for the movie Bajirao Masthani. Best Hindi movie award is announced for the movie Dum Lagake Haisha. Best Telugu Film award is given to Kanche directed by Krish.