Current Affairs 8th March, 2016: International Women’s Day Observed on 8th March

Current Affairs 8th March, 2016: International Women’s Day Observed on 8th March

Mahindra Samriddhi Krishi Shiroman Samman for Amrita Patel

womens day

8.3.2016: The chairman of Charutar Arogya Mandal, Amrita Patel was honored with Mahindra Samriddhi Krishi Shiroman Samman. She was presented with this lifetime achievement award in an even in Delhi. Union minister of agriculture Radha Mohan Singh presented the award. The award was instituted in 2011. Others who won the award are Mahendra Patidar, Neelam Dutta, Sugal Bai Patidar, P Jawahar Raja.

Patna Pirates win Pro Kabaddi League Title 2016

8.3.2016: Patna Pirates defeated U Mumba team in the final to win the Pro Kabaddi League Title 2016. Rohit Kumar of Patna Pirates won the Best Raider award and Mohan Chillar of U Mumba was awarded with Best Defender of the Match prize. Pro Kabaddi is a professional Kabaddi league in the country and was introduced in 2014.

International Women’s Day Observed on 8th March

8.3.2016: International women’s day is observed on 8th March every year across the world. The theme of women’s day 2016 is the “ Planet 50-50 by 2030: Step it up for Gender equality”. Campaign theme of the day was #PledgeForParity. India celebrated the day by honoring the women with Nari Shakti awards. The awards were given to the women at Rashtrapati Bhawan by President Pranab Mukherjee. In Uttar Pradesh Rani Laxmi Bai award was given to 40 acid attack survivors. The targets of 2030 agenda are to end discrimination against girls and women, ensuring free and quality education to boys and girls and empowering women and women’s human rights.

Kalabhavan Mani, Malayalam Actor Passed Away

8.3.2016: Malayalam actor Kalabhavan Mani breathed his last on 6th March at the age of 45. He was a mimicry artist before starting his career in Malayalam movies. He has done many characters including comedy and villain roles. He won National Film Award, Kerala State Film award and many other awards. He also won the National special jury award in the year 2000. The film that fetched him this award was Vasanthiyum Lakshmiyum Pinne Njaanum.