Current Affairs 12th August, 2015: Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna for Saniz Mirza

Current Affairs 12th August, 2015: Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna for Saniz Mirza

Ajay Sood, IISc Professor Becomes Royal Society Fellow

12.08.2015: Ajay Sood, the IISC professor is elected as fellow of prestigious royal society.  Ajay Sood is a faculty at Department of Physics.  He along with his team designed Field Effect Transistors with carbon nanotubes, Molybdenum disulphide and superconductors.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna for Saniz Mirza

12.8.2015: Sania Mirza, whose name was recommended for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award by Sports Ministry is, has been approved.  Sania is the second tennis player to be conferred with this award after Leander Paes.  Paes was presented with this award in 1996 after he won bronze at Atlanta Olympics.  Sania is ranked number one in women’s doubles category. She won the grand slam in this category along with Martina Hingis this year.

List of Athletes Recommended for Arjuna Award 2015

12.08.2015: The selection committee appointed by sports ministry recommended 17 named for Arjuna award this year.  These names are Sandeep kumar (Archery), MR Poovamma (Athletics), Mandeep Jangra (Boxing), Rohit Sharma (Cricket), Dipa Karmakar (Gymnastics), PR Sreejesh (Hockey), K Srikanth (Badminton), Jitu Rai (Shooting), Satish Kumar ( Weightlifting), Bajrang (Wrestling), Babita (Wrestling), Sanathoi Devi (Wushu), Sharath Gayakwad (Para-Swimming), Manjeet (Kabaddi), Abhilasha Mhatra (Kabaddi), Anup Kumar Yama (Roller Skating) and Swaran Singh (Rowing).

International Youth Day Observed on 12th August

12.08.2015: 12th August of every year is observed as the international Youth Day.  The day is being observed to draw attention to given set of cultural and legal issues related to youth since the year 2002. Theme of this year’s Youth Day is ‘Youth Civic Management’.

New Guidelines for Begum Akhtar Award: UP Government

12.08.2015: Uttar Pradesh government approved the new and modified guidelines for Begum Akhtar award.  It will be now possible for the chief minister of the state to make changes to the guidelines.  Begum Akhtar award is given to the Ghazal, dadra and thumri singers every year.  These singers should be aged not less than 40 years.  The award carries angvastram and cash award of 5 lakh rupees.  This award is named after Akhtari Bai Faizabadi, an Indian singer.  She won Padma Shri and Padma Bhushan awards for her service to music.