Current Affairs of 27th March, 2015: Vajpayee Conferred Bharat Ratna

Current Affairs of 27th March, 2015: Vajpayee Conferred Bharat Ratna

John Nash won Abel Prize for 2015

27.3.2015: John F Nash Jr. won Abel prize for the year 2015. The prize money of $760000 will be shared by John F Nash, Professor Emeritus, Louis Nirenberg. Abel prize for Nash is announced by Norwegian Academy of Sciences and Letter. Abel prize was established in 2011. It is presented every year by King of Norway for outstanding mathematician/mathematicians.

Fortune Magazine names Narendra Modi and Kailash Satyarthi as Greatest Leaders in World

27.3.2015: Fortune magazine released the list of extraordinary men and women in business, government and philanthropy. Mr Modi is in the 5th position in the list and Satyarthi is in 28th position. Apple CEO Tim Cook. In the second place is president Mario Draghi and the next place is occupied by Chinese President Xi Jinping and Pope Francis.

Atal Bihari Vajpayee conferred Bharat Ratna

27.3.2015: Atal Bihari Vajpayee is conferred the Bharat Ratna on 28th March. He is the first non congress prime minister to serve full term as prime minister. The highest civilian award was announced to him and Madan Mohan Malviya posthumously. Vajpayee was given away the award I his residence due to his bad health condition. Since inception 43 people received the award.

Lucknow Based Bank Barred from Accepting, Lending Deposits by RBI

27.3.2015: Pioneer Urban Cooperative Bank is barred by RBI from accepting and lending deposits for next six months. The banking license is not cancels but the bank will have to take clearance from RBI before doing banking business from RBI. This restriction will continue till the banks improves its financial position and the situation will be reviewed by RBI periodically.

Delhi government to ban Chewable Tobacco

27.3.2015: Health minister of Delhi Satyendra Jain informed that all forms of chewable tobacco’s sale, storage and purchase in Delhi. This ban is applicable on khaini, gutkha and zarda.

ISRO won Gandhi Peace Prize for the year 2014

27.3.2015: Indian Space Research Organization won Gandhi Peace Prize for the year 2015. Jury under Prime Minister Narendra Modi chose ISRO for this award. ISRO initiated MoM for a very cost effective price and India became the first Asian country to enter Martian sphere of influence. And ISRO is also the fourth space agency to undertake Mars mission after NASA, RFSA and European Space agency.