Current Affairs 29th December, 2015: Gujarat Wins Vijay Hazare Trophy for the First Time

Current Affairs 29th December, 2015: Gujarat Wins Vijay Hazare Trophy for the First Time

Amitabh Kant Appointed CEO of NITI Aayog

29.12.2015: Cabinet appointments committee gave the additional responsibility of being chief executive officer of NITI Aayog to Amitabh Kant. He will take charge from December 31, 2015.  He is succeeding CEO Sindhushree Khullar whose tenure is ending on that day. Amitabh Kant is an IAS officer of Kerala cadre belonging to 1980 batch.  He is now serving Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion as Secretary.

Karan Adani is the New CEO of Adani Ports and SEZ

29.12.2015: Adani Ports announced the appointment of Gautam Adani as the CEO of the company. He will take charge on 1st January, 2016.  He is the son of Gautam Adani. He will replace Sudipta Bhattacharya.  Gautam Adani is the founder of Adani Group and studied economics in US.  He was with Adani group since 2009.

O P Malhotra, Former Chef of Army Passed Away

29.12.2015: O P Malhotra, who served the national as the 13th chief of Army from 1978 to 1981, passed away at the age of 93.  He also served as Ambassador to Indonesia and Governor of Punjab.  He was born in Kashmir and joined Indian Military Academy. He also served as an instructor at Defence Service Staff College, Wellington.

Gujarat Wins Vijay Hazare Trophy for the First Time

29.12.2015: Vijay Hazare Cricket Trophy 2015 is won by Gujarat. This is the first time that the team won this trophy.  They defeated Delhi by 139 runs to lift the trophy.  Vijay Hazare Trophy was started 14 years ago and is also called the Ranji One Day Trophy.  State teams in the country participate in this limited overs cricket tourney.

Globe Soccer 2015 Awards Announced

29.12.2015: Globe soccer announced other awards. Best player of the year is won by Lionel Messi of Barcelona, Best Agent of the year award is won by Jorge Mendes and First Player Career Award is won by Andrea Pirlo of Italy.

CRI Pumps Bag Export Quality Excellence Award 2015

 29.12.2015: CRI Pumps bagged the export quality excellence award for the year 2015. This is the 11th consecutive time that they won this award.