Current Affairs 2nd October, 2015: 2nd October is International Day of Non-violence

Current Affairs 2nd October, 2015: 2nd October is International Day of Non-violence

Kartik Chandran named as MacArthur Fellow 2015

MK Gandhi

2.10.2015: Indian American Kartik Chandran is named as MacArthur fellow 2015 which entitles him a grant of US 625,000 dollars. He is chosen for the fellowship for his work in transforming pollutants from wastewater in to energy sources, fertilizers and etc.  Kartik is a graduate from IIT Roorkee and is the associate professor now in Columbia engineering. He studied BS from IIT Roorkee and PhD from University of Connecticut.  He also received Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation grant of 1.5 million dollars in 2011.  Other awards he won include National Academies of Science Fellowship in 2007, National Science Foundation CAREER award in 2009 and Environment Research Foundation Paul L Busch Award in 2010.

Maharashtra Government Imposed Drought Tax

2.10.2015: Maharashtra government imposed drought tax tackle drought like situation in the state. The decision to raise funds was taken by State Cabinet subcommittee on Relief and Rehabilitation which is headed by Finance Minister.  The new tax system will be valid for five months and will be reviewed in the next budget session.  This is the first time that the Maharashtra government is imposing special tax for drought relief.

2nd October is International Day of Non-violence

2.10.2015: 2nd October is the birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi and the day is celebrated as non-violence day throughout the world.  The resolution to establish non-violence day was first tabled in UNGA in 2007 and since then the days is being celebrated to spread the message of non-violence.

India to Chari Group of Twenty National Summit in 2018

2.10.2015: India is going to chair G20 which is going to be held in 2018.  The G20 summit is likely to be hosted by New Delhi in 2018.  The decision was taken by G20 forum which is chaired by Turkey. In 2016, the chair will be handed over to China by Turkey and in 2017 Germany will chair the summit.  The members include India, Russia, South Africa, Germany, Italy, Japan, Saudi Arabia, United Kingdom, US and also European Union.