Current Affairs 2nd September 2015: Durban to Host XXII Commonwealth Games in 2022

Current Affairs 2nd September 2015:  Durban to Host XXII Commonwealth Games in 2022

Dinesh Kumar Likhi is the new CMD of Mishra Dhatu nigam Limited

2.9.2015: Dinesh Kumar Likhi took charge as the new chairman and managing director of Mishra Dhatu Nigam Limited – NIDHANI.  He was serving as director, production and marketing, MIDHANI prior to this appointment. He is appointed to succeed M Narayana Rao.

Durban to Host XXII Commonwealth Games in 2022

2.9.2015: Durban is going to host the XXII Common wealth games. South Africa is the first African country to host the games in 85 years.  Britain hosted the game for six times, Malaysia and India once, Australia and Canada four times and New Zealand three times.  XX games are going to be held in Australia.

Mumbai Won Buchi Babu Memorial Trophy

2.9.2015: Mumbai won the Buchi Babu Memorial trophy. The team won the trophy in All India invitation cricket tournament.  Surya Kumar Yadav of Mumbai team is chosen as the man of the series. The tournament is held every year in memory of Buchi Babu Naidu, an Indian socialite and cricket pioneer who is known as father of south Indian cricket.

India Awarded UNESCO Prize Award of Excellent 2015

2.9.2015: UNESCO Prize of Excellence award that is given by UNESCO in Asia Pacific Heritage award for cultural heritage conservation for conserving Vadakkunnathan Temple of Kerala.  UNESCO established this award in 2000 to encourage efforts to restore and conserve heritage structures.  Till now 174 project received this awards for conservation out of 562 entries received from 24 countries.

Madhya Pradesh Government Launched Swachchata Sangraam Abhiyaan

2.9.2015: Swachchata Sangraam Abhiyaan was launched in Madhya Pradesh and the objective of this program is to make the Indore district free of open defecation by the end of 2015-16.  140 toilets were donated for the public on this occasion.  The three village panchayats that will become free of open defecation will receive Ahilya Gram Puraskar which will carry cash prize of 20 lakh rupees, 15 lakh rupees and 5 lakh rupees resptectively.  This was announced by P Narahari, collector of Indore district.  3 Lakh rupees will be presented to all Panchayats that achieve the goal by 2nd October 2015.