Current Affairs 1st September 2015: India Defeated Sri Lanka by 117 Runs to Win the Series

Current Affairs 1st September 2015: India Defeated Sri Lanka by 117 Runs to Win the Series

Anjuly Duggar is the new Financial Services Secretary

1.9.2015: Anjuly Chib Duggal took charge as the secretary in department of financial services in finance ministry. She was appointed to replace Hasmukh Adhia who is now the revenue secretary in finance ministry.  Anjuly was serving as in charge of corporate affairs secretary prior to this appointment.

AK Jha is Interim Chairman and Managing Director of NTPC

1.9.2015: A K Jha took additional charge as interim chairman and managing director of National Thermal Power Corporation.  Arup Roy Choudhury who is the CMD was not given extension and AK Jha will be replacing Arup. Jha is a graduate from BIT, Ranchi and also studied LLB from Delhi University.  He joined the company in 1977 as executive trainee.

Ratan P Watal is the New Union Finance Secretary

1.9.2015: Ratan P Watal, an IAs officer of 1978 batch, Andhra Pradesh cadre is appointed as the new union finance secretary.  He was serving as Secretary to Department of Expenditure of Finance Ministry.  Finance secretary coordinates working of other departments under ministry of finance.

L C Goyal Appointed CMD of India Trade Promotion Organisation

1.9.2015: L C Goyal is appointed as the Chairman and Managing Director of Indian Trade Promotion Organization and his appointment is approved by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.  Indian Trade Promotion Organization was established in 1977 and it has headquarters in New Delhi.

Tejinder Pal Singh Named Australian of the Day

1.9.2015: Commonwealth bank of Australia accredited Indian origin driver Tejinder Pal Singh as Australian of the Day.  Tejinder is feeding the homeless for the last three years.  He provides free lunch to poor and homeless. The lunch comprises rice, vegetarian curry and chickpeas.  His van carries Free Indian Food for hungry and needy people sign.

India Defeated Sri Lanka by 117 Runs to Win the Series

1.9.2015: India won a test series on Sri Lankan soil after 22 years.  They won the third and final test match in the series by 117 runs.  Chasing the target of 386, the hosts were dismissed for 268 runs. India wrapped up the series by 2-1. This is the first overseas victory since 2011.  This is the first series win for new captain Virat Kohli.