Current Affairs 8th August, 2015: Michael Clarke Retires from International Cricket

Current Affairs 8th August, 2015:   Michael Clarke Retires from International Cricket

Rekha Menon Appointed Chairman of Accenture India Operations

8.8.2015: Rekha Menon is the new chairperson of Accenture India. She will take charge on 21st of this months. She succeeds Avinash Vashista. Avinash was the chairman and MD of Accenture India since 2011. Anindya Basu is also appointed as the new managing director of Accenture India and the new MD will take charge on 21st August.

Niloy Neel, a Secularist Blogger Killed in Bangladesh

8.8.2015: Niloy Neel, a blogger in Bangladesh is suspected to be killed by Islamic Militants.  He was hacked to death by a gang in Bangladesh, the capital city of Dhaka.  He is the fourth secularist blogger to be killed in the country by militants.

Michael Clarke Retires from International Cricket

8.8.2015: Australia Captain Michael Clarke announced his retirement from international cricket. He will retire from cricket at the end of Ashes series, it is said.  He announced his retirement after his team lost to England by innings and 78 runs at the match played in Trend Bridge.  Clarke started his international cricket career in October 2004 with a test match.  In his career, he played 114 matches and scored 8,628 runs.  He became the captain of his team in 2011 and succeeds Ricky Ponting.  He led his team in 46 matches among which the team won 23 and lost 16.

India to Boycott 61st Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference

8.8.2015: India decided against participating in the 61st Commonwealth Parliamentary Conference.  The conference will be held in Pakistan next month from 30th to 8th. This is to protest against Jammu and Kashmir Assembly Speaker not receiving the invitation to participate in the conference.

India to Extend e-Tourist Visa Facility to 36 More Countries

8.8.2015: Government of India decided to extend the e-tourist facility to another 36 countries taking the total countries to which this facility is now available to 113.  Few countries that get the facility now are Andoraa, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Bolivia, Colombia, Cuba, UK, Belgium, Malaysia, Jamaica, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Seychelles, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan, Uruguay and Venezuela.