India-Zimbabwe One Day Series 2013 Title Sponsored by Celkon: First ODI Tomorrow in Harare

India - Zimbabwe One Day Series 2013

India-Zimbabwe One Day Series 2013 Title Sponsored by Celkon: First ODI Tomorrow in Harare

The five one day match series between India and Zimbabwe will be played in Zimbabwe from tomorrow.  Celkon mobiles is sponsoring the title.  Team India is led by Virat Kohli.  Mahendra Singh Dhoni and other senior players were rested by the selectors for this tour.

New Delhi: India – Zimbabwe one day series is going to begin tomorrow 23 July, 2013.  Celkon which sponsored the title for tri-series that was recently played in West Indies is sponsoring one day series title also. The series will be referred as Celkon mobile cup.  Celkon Mobiles Chairman, MD Y Guru said they are happy to continue their relation with the cricket.  He expected that Celkon will get good fame with the latest India-Zimbabwe one day series.

India recently won the Champions trophy and the tri-series one day trophy in West Indies. The team is now getting ready for another series.  Team India will be playing Celkon Mobile cup with Zimbabwe.  The series consists of five one day matches.  Selection committee rested the seniors and selected young players for the series.  Virat Kohli is leading the team.

The first match in Celkon Mobile Cup in the India-Zimbabwe one day series will be played tomorrow.  It would be wrong to under estimate the Zimbabwe team.  Zimbabwe made its entry in cricket in 1983 world cup.  It defeated Australia team in the very first match that they played.  In the next match, India escaped defeat in the hands of Zimbabwe team.

Zimbabwe gave shock to Team Indian in 1992 world cup also.  In 1997, the team won over India for the first time in a tri-series.  In 2012 India toured Zimbabwe.  India team was then led by Suresh Raina.  Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe and India participated in the tri-series.  Team India could not even reach finals.  Zimbabwe team then had Alistair Campbell, Andy Flower, Grant Flower and Heath streak who were top class players who can give tough competition to other teams.  But all these players are not there in the present Zimbabwe team.  The team is now led by Brendon Taylor.

It would be interesting to see how Virat Kohli will lead the team of youngsters.  There are no senior players in the team.  This is the first time that Virat Kohli will be leading the team for a full series.

Indian Squad for the series: Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik, Cheteshwar Pujara, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja, Ajinkya Rahane, Mohammed Shami, Parvez Rasool, Jaidev Unandkat, Vinjay Kumar and Mohit Sharma.