Satti Geetha Wins Gold in National Athletics Championships

Satti Geetha Wins Gold in National Athletics Championships

The first day of National Athletics Championship was good for Andhra Pradesh. In the sprint events that were held in GMC Balyogi Stadium in Gachibowli, Hyderabad, Satti Geeta and Najeeb Khureshi performed well. Geetha won the gold medal in 100 meters event. Geetha who was away from athletics since a long time showed good performance. She reordered 12.00 seconds timing and stood in the first place. MM Anshu of Kerala won the silver medal with 12.08 seconds and Ruma Circar of Bengal recorded 12.37 seconds and won the bronze medal.

In 100 meters men’s event, Abdul Najeeb Khureshi of Andhra Pradesh won silver medal by recording 10.59 seconds.  He stood in the second position. Dharamveer of Haryana stood in the first place with 10.51 seconds timing and won the gold medal. Kishan Kumar of Haryana won the bronze medal by finishing the run in 10.60 seconds. In women’s 400 meters event Andhra Pradesh athlete Korada Mrudula stood in the tenth position.

Satti Geetha

On the first day of National Athletics championship, Sahana Kumari of Karnataka has qualified for the London Olympics in Women’s high jump category. She jumped 192 meters and won the chance of participating in London Olympics. She also broke the meet and national records which were on the name of Bobby Aloisis – 1.91 meters. In this even Mallika Mondal of Bengal won the silver medal by jumping 1.79 meters and NK Shaji of Kerala won bronze medal by jumping 1.76 meters.

In five thousand meters running event that was held as a part of National Athletics Championship, Indrajit Patel of Uttar Pradesh won the gold medal. Man Singh of Delhi won the silver medal and Nitinder Singh of Uttarakhand won the bronze medal. In triple jump event, the gold medal winner was Arpinder Singh of Punjab, silver medal winner is Sourabh and Raj Sekhar of Tamil Nadu was the bronze medal winner. In discuss throw event Dharam Raj Yadav of Madhya Pradesh, Susheel Tripati of Uttar Pradesh and Binoy of Kerala won the gold and silver and bronze medals respectively.

In women’s 5000 m event, Shaanara Khatun of Bengal, Monica Motiram of Maharashtra and Archana Paul of Uttar Pradesh stood in the first, second and third positions respectively. In pole vault event Surekha of Tamil Nadu is the winner of gold medal, SV Khyati of Karnataka was the silver award winner and R Remya of Kerala is the bronze medal winner.